DIY Diamond Ring Cleaning


As a lot of my readers stumble upon my blog for wedding research, I thought I’d share some DIY handy tips on keeping your diamond ring sparkling I did today!

I do most stuff with my ring one and if you’re like me, you may notice your ring looks a bit cloudy under the settings which is very hard to remove. I’ve tried the ultra sonic cleaner and the foil, salt, baking soda, hot water and liquid detergent mix but it just didn’t work. It made it look cleaner but it didn’t get rid of the cloudy stuff stuck to the diamond.

diamond ring cleaning diy before and after

My before and after results! Diamond held by platinum setting with yellow gold ring. Very happy ^_^

How To Do It

You will need the following:

  • bowl
  • 1/3 dishwashing liquid
  • 2/3 warm water
  • soft toothbrush

Quick Directions: Put the dishwashing liquid and warm water in a bowl. Drop the ring in and let it soak for a few seconds or as long as you like (even overnight!). Take it out and dip your toothbrush into the solution and then gently scrub the diamond. Then rinse with water and repeat if necessary.  Gently dry it with a lint-free cloth or paper towel and then admire it 😀

I don’t know if this will remove glue so I recommend you doing some research but with a setting should be ok. This method is best for removing grease and oil.

My setting has quite a large gap for cleaning but it also works for small settings such as my stud diamond earrings.

My stud diamond earrings on white gold setting DIY cleaning

My stud diamond earrings on white gold setting

If you don’t have dishwashing liquid, try just water and detergent. I think the toothbrush scrubing is probably key to this cleaning 😉 The detergent will just help make the water slippery as we’re trying to remove the oils anyway.

Good luck with your big day and Happy Travels!

 

