Day 5 Corfu


Continued from Day 4 Athens – Corfu

BusAbout Classic Balkan Trek – Day 5 of 9

Today is our free day.  Knowing me, I don’t know what to do so I tagged along with Megan and did some shopping.  Corfu is a very photogenic destination.  There’s lots of shop selling limoncello, dresses (lots of white ones), jewellery (especially silver), wooden items and souvenir.

For some reason I felt like spending a bit of money and bought:

  • 2 limoncello (although I can’t stand to drink it, it makes a good gift!)
  • matching greek design silver earrings and a ring
  • real turquoise earrings
  • and a swarovski teddy necklace (couldn’t resist..)

If only someone could smack my hands right now.. naughty!

busabout corfu island limoncello

Limoncello shop

busabout corfu island kebab

The kebab shop

busabout corfu island shopping

Beautiful Shopping Street

busabout corfu island market shopping

Clothes everywhere!

busabout corfu island restaurants

Restaurants

busabout corfu island

busabout corfu island stuff I bought

Showing off my new purchases!

Lunch Time

Greek food is awesome! We sat near a bunch of seniors who came via a cruise ship.  We had a bit of a chat with them and they were a lovely active bunch of oldies.. I thought to myself.. One day I want to be old and happy like them!!  I’d love to try a cruise tour!!  Need money first… doh!

busabout corfu island greek salad

Greek Salad nom nom!

After lunch, Megan and I bumped into some of our tour group and decided to tag along.  That’s what we do best! lol.

busabout corfu island group

Hanging out with half the group

We walked a lot and I had no idea where we’re going.

busabout corfu island statue

Statue

busabout corfu island

busabout corfu island

Beautiful water

busabout corfu island

busabout corfu island

The swimming place

We ending up going swimming.  Unfortunately for me, it was that time of the month and I had to sit out 😦  There is a small entry fee.

busabout corfu island swimming busabout corfu island swimming

busabout corfu island local kids diving

Local kids diving

busabout corfu island tourist diving

Tourist diving

busabout corfu island boat

busabout corfu island sea urchins

You can see sea urchins from here

busabout corfu island local kids

Local kids kindly posed a photo for me 🙂

busabout corfu island

Wish I was swimming.. stupid time of the month..

Dinner Time

Not far from our resort there’s a quiet restaurant.  The owners there are really laid back and we had a jolly good time!  In Greece, you’ll find they drink Ouzo.  It’s kinda like Vodka but not really and I really hate it.. it’s disgusting.. (I’m not a drinker).

busabout corfu island ouzo

Greek spirit – Ouzo! Bottoms up! *yuck*

I love a good surprise and had no idea what I’ve just ordered.  all I asked was for something traditional.  Looks like dog food and rice.  I remember the taste being bland and I didn’t enjoy it.. 😦

busabout corfu island dinner

Do you want to eat this?

After dinner, the owner played some awesome greek music and we danced and drank all night to it!  And then we played some pool.  It was super fun!

busabout corfu island pool

Relax and play pool everyone!

If you ever go to Greece.. greek islands is the way to go!

Continue to Day 6 Corfu – Durres

