Day 3 Thessaloniki – Meteora – Athens


Continued from Day 2 Gallipoli – Kavala – Thessaloniki

BusAbout Classic Balkan Trek – Day 3 of 9

Not many places I visit takes my breath away but Meteora not only took my breath away, it made my jaw drop and I could not blink at all!  The first thing I noticed was the massive size cliffs!  I love the solid look of it.  The smooth roundness and the line formations over time.  It really amazed me how perfect they are.  I’m surprised there are even plants growing on it.  And when I saw buildings on top of the cliffs it BLEW MY MIND!!  I thought.. only aliens could do that!!

(If you’re interested why I said aliens, go to youtube and search for “Ancient Aliens“.  It’s a documentary series of the concept that ancient aliens help built complex ancient buildings such as the pyramids and other ancient world wonders!)

Before heading to Monastery, we got a chance to have lunch in the quiet town of Meteora.  You should check out some gift shops there.  They have some very hilarious adult only souvenirs!   Such as ancient erotic depictions on a deck of cards lol!  Of course I had to buy it. 😀

Meteora has become one of my favourite sight-seeing places 🙂

And as for Athens……. a bit low on my list.  It’s dirty and scary at night.  If it wasn’t for Parthenon.. I don’t think I’d ever want to visit Athens again.  Well not soon anyways.. the town looks unloved and dull and the people I saw walking around at night looked miserable and some dangerous.  I was walking with 3 other girls and we stuck with each other very closely.  There’s just some scary vibe there.  I don’t know how to describe it.

Anyway we found good food with a very friendly waiter the restaurant.  We even had a greek stranger sat with us and had a chat in English telling us Athens used to be good.  Hmm.

I think it’s time for some photos!

Description

A historical day at the cliff monasteries of Meteora. This ancient site features monasteries perched on cliffs dating back to the 9th Century. The Holy Trinity monastery was featured in the James Bond movie ‘For Your Eyes Only’ and today is a UNESCO listed site. After an enthralling visit we head to Athens and spend the evening in the plaka right below the Acropolis. Like a village within the city, we can eat Greek specialities and try some of the local ouzo.

Meteora Greece

The town in Meteora

Meteora Greece

Beautiful unique rock formation!

Meteora Greece Meteora Greece

Meteora Greece

Buildings on top of the rock! Mind blown!!

Meteora Greece

The Holy Trinity Monastery

Two very annoying things about site is:

  1. You have to be covered.  Ladies you need to cover your shoulders and wear a long skirt (which you can hire at the entrance).
  2. You can’t take photos inside.. I hate places that do that.. grr

But the good news is you get to have an awesome view!  There’s a shop there that sells church stuff and postcards.

Meteora Greece Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron

Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron

Meteora Greece Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron

Meteora Greece Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron

Don’t need scarf.. just cover your shoulders and wear a long skirt..  (The scarf I bought from Istanbul at the Grand Bazaar)

Meteora Greece Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron Meteora Greece Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron Meteora Greece Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron Meteora Greece Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron Meteora Greece Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron Meteora Greece Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron Meteora Greece Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron Meteora Greece Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron Meteora Greece Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron Meteora Greece Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron Meteora Greece Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron Meteora Greece Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron Meteora Greece Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron

Meteora Greece Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron

It’s a long way down!

Meteora Greece Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron Meteora Greece Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron Meteora Greece Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron Meteora Greece Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron Meteora Greece Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron Meteora Greece Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron Meteora Greece Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron

Athens

Despite my not-so-nice comments on Athens, it looks better from above then on ground floor.  Oh and Greek beer is quite nice 🙂

Athens Greece

View from a rooftop

Athens Greece

Hanging out enjoying the view

Athens Parthenon Greece

View of Parthenon!

Athens Parthenon Greece Athens Greece

Athens Parthenon Greece at night

Parthenon at Night

Athens Greece Mythos Greek Beer

Mythos – Greek beer 😀

Athens Greece Food

Mmmm Greek goodies!

Athens Greece Food

Related Links

Continue to Day 4 Athens – Corfu