Day 1 Istanbul to Gallipoli


BusAbout Classic Balkan Trek – Day 1 of 9

After spending 3 days clueless of what to do and see in Istanbul I am so thankful to be on my first balkan 9 day tour with Busabout!!  I really wasn’t prepared in Istanbul and was so tired after Contiki tour I had no energy to explore anything by myself.. so pathetic really lol.  For those who’ve just joined, my Contiki tour explores western Europe.  This busabout tour will explore some of eastern europe in a much smaller bus with less people which was a nice change.

Eastern europe is very different from western europe.  It’s less developed in some ways and “rocky”.  You’ll see what I mean throughout this journey.  I joined this tour with zero expectations.  I don’t know anything about Gallipoli (which I should.. because I’m Australian and was taught at school!! shocking really..) and so I don’t know what to expect to see.

I’m not a fan of long bus rides so I slept throughout the ride to avoid motion sickness since the roads aren’t the best here.  When we arrived we first unloaded our bags into our accommodation – a simple hotel with no elevators.. took some of us a while to get up with our heavy luggages.  I strongly advise investing in a travel backpack people!  And if you can.. pack light.

Outside, the view is very simple.  Some more rocks, mountains, boats and the sea.  Feels very laid back and not much happening at all.

Since my history is terrible, I’ll leave you with the description from BusAbout website followed by some lovely photos I’ve taken below.

Description

We leave the Turkish metropolis and head to the Greek Acropolis.  Our first night is in Gallipoli, a place made famous by the brave ANZACS of 1915. We arrive around midday allowing you time to trace all the relevant landmarks whilst we set up camp here. This is your chance to visit this historical site without the crowds and hustle, so take your time. Visit the lone pine cemetery and the beach landing point so you can witness firsthand what our ANZACS faced back in 1915.

Gallipoli turkey Gallipoli turkey Gallipoli turkey Gallipoli turkey Gallipoli turkey Gallipoli turkey Gallipoli turkey Gallipoli turkey Gallipoli turkey Gallipoli turkey Gallipoli turkey Gallipoli turkey Gallipoli turkey

Poppy Flowers

I’ve never seen really poppy flowers before so I’m very impressed how the fake ones look just like the real ones 🙂

Gallipoli turkey poppy flowers

Poppy flowers

Gallipoli turkey

Kim and I with the poppy flowers

Gallipoli turkey Gallipoli turkey ANZAC Gallipoli turkey Gallipoli turkey Gallipoli turkey Gallipoli turkey

Gallipoli turkey Anzac cove

Anzac Cove

Gallipoli turkey Gallipoli turkey

Gallipoli turkey lone pine

Lone Pine

Gallipoli turkey lone pine Gallipoli turkey lone pine Gallipoli turkey lone pine Gallipoli turkey lone pine Gallipoli turkey Gallipoli turkey Gallipoli turkey Gallipoli turkey Gallipoli turkey Gallipoli turkey Gallipoli turkey

Gallipoli turkey

Some guy found artifacts of bullets

Related Links:

Continue to Day 2 Gallipoli – Kavala – Thessaloniki

