You Dropped My Heart In Turkey


“Excuse me miss!  You dropped something! My heart!” 

Let me guess, this happened to you too during your visit to Turkey. 😉

I have never been to a country where salesman use tons of pickup lines to try sell you something.  Should I be flattered to know I look like Lucy Liu from Charles Angels??  Hmm, not really.

You can seriously write a whole book of pick up lines from your visit in Istanbul!  Especially at Bazaars.  After a few hours of shopping, I was quite fed up and just wanted to be left alone.  I didn’t want to hear anymore pick up lines and I just want to get away!  Shopping also got boring because everything they sell is the same thing over and over and over again.  Kind of like my shopping experience in Venice but a lot cheaper.

Don’t get me wrong, they have beautiful colourful ornaments.  If I had my own house, I’d ship tons of stuff from Turkey but unfortunately (actually fortunately) I don’t.

I used to think Turkish people are rude because I was bullied a lot by Turkish kids in primary school.  However, it isn’t like that at all in Turkey as people there are very friendly and helpful and I didn’t encounter many language barrier as most of them I spoke to could speak English.

I didn’t do much in Istanbul as I only went there because it was the meeting point for my Classic Balken Trek Busabout tour.

Grand Bazaar

The biggest Bazaar I’ve ever seen!  Make sure you have a map and know which gate you came from because you can seriously get lost and it’ll be a never ending shopping experience!  Make sure you bargin!  Prices are pretty constant but marked up very high.  Not sure how high but I try to do 50%.  I bought a lovely scarf :-).

Istanbul Turkey Grand Bazaar

Grand Bazaar

Istanbul Turkey Grand Bazaar

One of many gates to Grand Bazaar

Istanbul Turkey Grand Bazaar

A maze of turkish stuff!

Istanbul Turkey Grand Bazaar Istanbul Turkey Grand Bazaar

Istanbul Turkey Grand Bazaar

Tasty kebab from Grand Bazaar

Istanbul Turkey Grand Bazaar

Makes good kebab and ice cream around the Grand Bazaar

Istanbul Turkey Grand Bazaar

Hagia Sophia Museum

Unfortunately I didn’t get a chance to go in because it was so crowded and hot that I just couldn’t be bothered. If you check out their website here you can see wonderful photos of it inside without the crowd!!

 

Istanbul Turkey Istanbul Turkey Istanbul Turkey Istanbul Turkey Istanbul Turkey

 

Istanbul Turkey

Random Istanbul Photos

Istanbul Turkey Delight Sweets

Turkish goodness!!

Istanbul Turkey Delight Sweets

So rich yet so good!

Istanbul Turkey Delight Sweets

Yum yum yum!!

Istanbul Turkey Istanbul Turkey Istanbul Turkey

Istanbul Turkey

Lady making Turkish bread on display

Istanbul Turkey

They have reliable public transport. Easy to use and cheap.

Istanbul Turkey

Istanbul Turkey

Many colourful displays of spices, herbs and tea!

Istanbul Turkey Istanbul Turkey

Asian Side of Turkey – Üsküdar

You can take a ferry from Istanbul and travel to the Asian side of Turkey.  The day I went, I honestly had no idea what to do.  I didn’t do any research and was just killing time.  There was some election going on and I decided.. you know what?.. I’m gonna get a doner kebab and feel better about myself for coming here. And so I did.. It had chips in it!

Turkey Üsküdar Asian Side Turkey Üsküdar Asian Side Turkey Üsküdar Asian Side Turkey Üsküdar Asian Side Turkey Üsküdar Asian Side Turkey Üsküdar Asian Side Turkey Üsküdar Asian Side Turkey Üsküdar Asian Side Turkey Üsküdar Asian Side Turkey Üsküdar Asian Side

Turkey Üsküdar Asian Side

Ferry ride back to Istanbul

Turkey Üsküdar Asian Side

 

Related Links