What Inspired You To Travel?


subscribe
When I was young, I dreamt of a beautiful lady in an aeroplane wearing a nice blue, white and red uniform.  She smiled at me and then swayed both her hands slightly to the right that read, “Please come in and take a seat.”  Her eyes sparkled and I was instantly mesmerised.  This lovely lady has been all over the world as part of her job and she loves every minute of it.

“Wow!” I thought, “I want to do that!  I want to be a flight attendant when I grow up!”

I loved the idea that you could be the most beautiful girl and travel the around the world as part of your job!  It was like the ultimate glamours dream job typically portrayed like that by the media.  I’m sure I’m not the only one who romanticised about it, but that was probably my first inspiration to travelling.

I later learnt that my perception of being a flight attendant was overrated.  It meant long hours serving food to impolite passengers.  Not my thing as I vowed never to work in hospitality ever again!  (My parents used to own a restaurant and cafe.  Horrible days.)

I want more than travel.  I want flexible hours.  Thank the Internet and advance technology for making that possible for me!

Although I haven’t blogged that long, it’s always nice to know that you can inspire people and a massive bonus when people take the time to let you know!

So at the beginning of this year I happened to be the source of inspiration to someone I used to know 🙂

Facebook message:

Hey Amelinna! Not sure if you remember me but I used to go to Kumon when you were working there a very very long time ago haha  Anyway I was surfing the net, looking at blogs and stuff and I somehow ended up on yours!!! I thought you looked so familiar so I looked you up on facebook and realised you worked at Kumon ages ago. Anyway the point of this message was to say that your blog is quite amazing. The photography skills, and your little insights and honest opinions you include with every post I’ve enjoyed so much!! Honestly. I’ve finished Year 12 last year, so it’s my first year of univeristy this year and your blog has inspired me to save up and travel during my holiday breaks  I’ve really enjoyed spending a few hours reading everything you’ve posted, it was sooo lovely and I felt like I was there with you! The point of this message was that your documentations of your travelling and life were so nice to read and really have inspired me, so I hope you keep posting because you’ve got another new fan  congratulations on getting married too!!! xx

– Kirtana B

So if you think I’ve been an inspiration to you, please let me know in the comments below!  I would really appreciate it.  And also, “What inspired you to travel?” :-p

