My Thailand Destination Wedding – Part 2


Previous post My Thailand Destination Wedding – Part 1

Nora Buri Resort & Spa, Koh Samui.

The Morning Rush

This is the big day.  I had a very good sleep but wish I could’ve slept more…. My partner and I got up at 6 am to make up our first dance move.  We didn’t want it to be romantic so we chose to dance to “You Ain’t Seen Nothing Yet” by Bachman-Turner Overdrive.  You should check out the lyrics if the song is unfamiliar to you.  It’s pretty funny!  When we first heard it, we knew we had to do it.  After dancing for for almost 3 hours, the hunger really gets to you.  I was really excited to go breakfast.  I heard Nora Buri’s breakfast buffet has all the good stuff 😛

And they did not disappoint….

They had almost everything!  They had a large range of freshly baked bread, honey from the source – dripping off the wax (should’ve taken a photo of it!), lots of beautiful tropical fruits, the usual western and asian breakfast, egg station and the list goes on.  It’s pretty impressive.  You can eat indoors (air con) or outdoors.  Tea and coffee can be orded when seated or help yourself to a selection of juices.  I usually have the egg and congee, fruits, tea and orange juice.  One of my friend staying there loves getting a toast of bread and slapping on a pile of Nutella haha.

nora buri wedding koh samui breakfast buffet

My breakfast. Didn’t eat much because I was still full from last night plus I needed to fit into my dress..

nora buri wedding koh samui breakfast buffet

The pastry and bread area freshly made at Nora Buri

After breakfast, we went back to our rooms and both freshened up.  I packed a small bags of belongings and waited to be taken away from my love.

Wedding Preparations

Midday, Michelle and her team took me away to another villa.   The villa looked the same as my one and I got to reunite with my dress.  Nora Buri took it to the dry cleaners the day before to get it steamed ironed.  Michelle had to leave to help set up the venue and I was left alone to relax and prepare before the wedding with my bridesmaids.  Only thing is my bridesmaid are running late and I’ve already done all I can before I left and was feeling quite lonely.  So I did some photography myself with my old Canon 550D with a 50mm lens.

nora buri wedding koh samui

My beautiful ring holder.

nora buri wedding koh samui

My borrowed accessories (earrings from mother-in-law, bracelets from sister).

nora buri wedding koh samui

Shoes I bought for 980 baht at Terminal 21 Istanbul level, Bangkok

After running out of shots to do, I decided to call my friends staying at Nora Buri to join me swimming in the private pool.  I’m so glad I had company.

At 2pm my hair and make up artist arrived and my friend kindly stayed behind to take some photos.  I didn’t book a professional photographer for this session because I didn’t really think it mattered and preferred he stayed until reception instead.

nora buri wedding koh samui hair make up

My thai hair and make-up team

nora buri wedding koh samui hair make up

First time getting it professionally done!

nora buri wedding koh samui hair make up

Tools of the trade

nora buri wedding koh samui hair make up

My beautiful bouncy hair! What will they do with them?

nora buri wedding koh samui hair make up

First time wearing fake lashes….

nora buri wedding koh samui hair make up

Using Farland flowers for…?

nora buri wedding koh samui hair make up

My hair of course!

nora buri wedding koh samui hair make up

Adding the final touches..

nora buri wedding koh samui hair make up

The final result 😀

I had no idea what to expect because I’ve heard horror stories about brides in Thailand having their hair and make-up done and it was no good.  My artist is an extra fee organised by Nora Buri.  He was great fun to be with even though he didn’t speak a word of English haha.  It took only 45min.  It’s pretty quick for such a good job!  When he was gone…….  I knew…. it was time to put the dress on……

nora buri wedding koh samui wedding dress preparation

It’s time……………

