Day 16 Swiss Alps


Continued from Day 15 Munich To Swiss Alps (Liechtenstein)

Contiki European Experience – Day 16 of 20

Day 16 was a free day and only the day left in Lauterbrunnen.  I had the choice to go to Jungfrau Mountain with fellow Contikians or go do my own thing.  It would take up half the day and cost a bomb (138 chf).  But I also wanted to see the Trummelbach waterfall as well.. Ah decisions, decisions decisions!

At the end, I chose the waterfall because I can see Jungfrau from my room and I did not pack for the snow unfortunately.  That’s ok, I prefer waterfalls over snow anyway.

Kim and I left in the morning and started our walk towards Trummelbach Falls.  The 30 min walk was really pleasant.  All we could hear was birds and water flowing.

Swiss Currency

I call swiss currency “swiss francs” or “francs”.  My fiance who lived in Switzerland for a year and told me in Zurich they used “chf” pronounced as it is.  Interesting yeah?

contiki swiss alps Lauterbrunnen contiki swiss alps Lauterbrunnen

contiki swiss alps Lauterbrunnen

Hello there goat!

contiki swiss alps Lauterbrunnen

Herro brown cows!

contiki swiss alps Lauterbrunnen Jungfrau

Hello Jungfrau! You’re beautiful always!

contiki swiss alps Lauterbrunnen

contiki swiss alps Lauterbrunnen

Another river on our way to Trummelbachfalle.

Welcome to Trummelbach Fall

Trummelbach Fall combined 2 of my favourite things – waterfall and rock formation.  The powerful force of the water over time shaped the rocks to smooth round curves forms an interesting flow of water.  Curvy and sexy flows.

Entry cost 11 chf for adults and 4 chf for children.  Takes 30 – 1 hr minutes to see all the waterfalls.

contiki swiss alps trummelbachfalle waterfall Lauterbrunnen

contiki swiss alps trummelbachfalle waterfall Lauterbrunnen

Walkthrough of Trummelbach so you don’t miss a thing!  I suggest taking the lift to the top and work your way down.

contiki swiss alps trummelbachfalle waterfall Lauterbrunnen

contiki swiss alps trummelbachfalle waterfall Lauterbrunnen

Ride to the top

contiki swiss alps trummelbachfalle waterfall Lauterbrunnen

Inside the cave, it feels like a batman cave.  Dark, wet and not sure what to expect really.  It gets cold in the cave and you do get slightly wet.

contiki swiss alps trummelbachfalle waterfall Lauterbrunnen contiki swiss alps trummelbachfalle waterfall Lauterbrunnen contiki swiss alps trummelbachfalle waterfall Lauterbrunnen contiki swiss alps trummelbachfalle waterfall Lauterbrunnen contiki swiss alps trummelbachfalle waterfall Lauterbrunnen

contiki swiss alps trummelbachfalle waterfall Lauterbrunnen

“The Corkscrew”

Trummelbach Falls in action

Watch my video of the waterfall.  See just how powerful it is!

contiki swiss alps trummelbachfalle waterfall Lauterbrunnen

Exit of Trummelbach Fall

If you love waterfalls, I highly recommend visiting Trummelbach Falls.  Although Niagara Falls is much more powerful and grand, Trummelbach falls allows you to get close enough and hear the sound of force as it echos all around you.  It’s a really thrilling experience!  I just wish we could touch it.   I wanna see how red it can smack my hand!

contiki swiss alps Lauterbrunnen

Grave yard

contiki swiss alps pie Lauterbrunnen

Lunch time = Yummy pie time! (Looks nicer than it taste really. Was a little bland.)

Later in the day I got a chance to catch up with the people who visited Jungfrau.  They said it was really cold, it was snowing heavily, all you could see was white and they spent most of their time indoors.  I think I made the right decision after all 😉

Links

2 responses to “Day 16 Swiss Alps

Comments are closed.