Day 14.3 Munich


Continued from Day 14.2 Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site  

Contiki European Experience – Day 14 of 20 (part 3 of 4)

Sundays is probably the most boring day to visit Munich, only a handful of shops were opened.  In Germany it is common for shops to be closed on Sundays with a few exceptions such as pharmacies.  Why? By Law!  But I think that’s changing slowly.

Shops don’t open on Sundays

I asked a friend who lives in Germany what’s it not being able to shop when you want?  He said it’s annoying because he works long hours and hardly have time to do grocery.  The best time would be weekends.  Since they are closed on Sundays, he is forced to go on Saturdays just like most people.  So it’s quite busy on Saturdays (for a few hours)!  He said but you learn to adapt and organise ahead – you get used to it.  Then I asked my local German friend, she said she never really noticed!  It never bothered her.  Hmm..

Welcome to Munich

First thing I recall from Munich was their architecture.  I don’t know why, but they look like doll houses.  I’m not talking about the gothic buildings or heritage ones just the common buildings.  I mean once you travelled around Europe for a while, things start to look similar to one another but for some reason I see Germany so differently.  It looks so squeaky clean.  I guess it’s different because it was a Sunday and it was quiet.  There was a few people but everyone was just quiet.

contiki munich traditional dress

Traditional German Dress

contiki munich Marienplatz

Marienplatz

contiki munich

contiki munich Rathaus-Glockenspiel

Rathaus-Glockenspiel

Video of Rathaus-Glockenspiel’s Musical Clock Animating

We were lucky we had the chance to see the clock in action.  For a quiet Sunday, I was surprised that there was a lot of people there to watch it.

contiki munich Gothic Frauenkirche Dom

Frauenkirche

View from a tower

Unfortunately I forgot which tower so don’t forget to ask your tour guide! >.<

contiki munich Rathaus-Glockenspiel

Rathaus-Glockenspiel in full

contiki munich contiki munich contiki munich

contiki munich Kaufingerstrasse

Kaufingerstrasse shopping street

Inside the Frauenkirche (A Church)

This church was kinda creepy because of the Devil’s Footstep..  I don’t know what to believe but the foot mark small.  I should’ve placed my foot beside it in the photo.. dammit!  So it could’ve been a child who got his/her foot stuck, maybe?

contiki munich Devil's Footstep

Devil’s Footstep

contiki munich

Cenotaph of Emperor Louis IV by Hans Krumpper

contiki munich contiki munich contiki munich contiki munich contiki munich contiki munich

Out And About

Everyone was free to roam around.  A great idea is to know a bit about Munich before you go off or just follow others if you are unsure.  I just wondered around. I suggest laying down in the park.

contiki munich contiki munich contiki munich contiki munich contiki munich contiki munich contiki munich

Links

>> Continue to Day 14.4  Barvarian Beer Hall (Munchner Haupt)

