Day 11 Venice


Continued from Day 10 Rome To Venice (Bologna)

Contiki European Experience – Day 11 of 20

When I think of Venice, I think about Tomb Raider 2 (also where I first learnt about Venice and made sure that was on my bucket list!).  So, yes yes I was very excited to have visited it!! It’s kinda similar to the game but no where as beautiful as the real thing.  I still feel excited just writing about it (got butterflies now).

At arrival we were greeted by a local tour guild.  We were each provided a headset so we don’t miss a thing said!  Gotta love technology!

contiki italy venice

On the ferry to the floating city

contiki italy venice

Piazza San Marco.  Love the detail and artwork!

contiki italy venice

Some kind of Astrology clock.

contiki italy venice

Typical view, they all look so similar I got lost a few times.

contiki italy venice

Fruit Markets because people do live here!

contiki italy venice

Fresh Seafood

contiki italy venice

Rialto Bridge – great place to go shopping!

contiki italy venice

Beautiful view from the Rialto Bridge.  I am in love!!

contiki italy venice

A lot of glass jeweleries and Italian goodies!

contiki italy venice

contiki italy venice

contiki italy venice

Venice Costume

contiki italy venice

Glass demonstration

After our tour we watched some glass making demonstration.  It’s very impressive, he made a vase and a horse really quickly but you need years of experience to do what he can.  Definitely not and easy job.  After the demonstation, yup you guessed it!  Shopping at their expensive store.

Tourist Trap

The owners know contiki travellers are budget travellers so they offer to sell crystal jewellery at the end (not the not like Swarovski crystals).  All the boys left but the girls just couldn’t take their eyes off it including me……….. They are attractive at first, very sparkly, I bought one for 25 euros already knowing the chain of the necklace is not good metal and cheap (although it looks good at first) and the crystal (to me) is fake but looks good.

Went out shopping afterwards and I found my necklace for only 5 euros!!! Exactly the same necklace!  After that, told myself no more impulse buy.  There is time, and there are cheaper out there!  But it’s too late now and so I just enjoyed it until it broke which was a few months ago.

Note:  Every store contiki takes you to, they have a contract with them.  They help each other and we benefit from it too but if you’re really on a budget, think twice before you buy.  It’s really up to you and what you value.  🙂

Anyway,… LUNCH TIME!!

contiki italy venice pizza

PIZZA AGAIN!! yay

contiki italy venice

contiki italy venice

Lots of beautiful mask

Up The Bell Tower

contiki italy venice

View from the bell tower at St Mark’s Square

contiki italy venice

contiki italy venice

contiki italy venice

contiki italy venice

Gondola Time!

contiki italy venice gondola

Off to our gondola rides

contiki italy venice gondola

The Korean girls and I (Thanks Kim!)

contiki italy venice gondola

contiki italy venice

Going back to our hotel

I would love to have wedding photos in Venice!  I think it’s much more romantic than Paris.  But shopping wise within the city center got boring because a lot of the items they sell are the same –  glass jewels, glass this and that, masks, costumes, souvenirs etc.

I didn’t come by toilets easily here but the only public toilet I could find was an incredible 2.50 euros!!  Making Venice the most expensive public toilet ever I’ve ever encountered!

It wasn’t even that well maintained and smelly!! *sigh*.

Found public toilet more expensive than Venice?  Let me know in the comments below please! I’d like to know!!

Links

>> Continue to Day 12 Venice To Austrian Tyrol

