My first CouchSurfing meeting


Most oversea trips I do, I’m usually with a tour, school, family or friends.  It’s all been fun but from my European experience, travelling independently has been the most memorable.  You get to do things whenever and where you want with no schedule and pressure from others.  It’s really a relaxing environment and makes a holiday feel like one.  But sometimes it can get lonely and you just want to spontaneously meet other travellers (and locals) in the area with no commitments.

That’s when I decided it’s about time to out couchsurfing.  So here I was in Melaka, Eric and I just arrived and had no idea where to eat for dinner, I decided to be spontaneous and look up Melaka Activities and Forums to see if there was any action.  To my luck there was and for dinner as well! Perfect timing 🙂

I responded to one of the threads and got a response quickly by Ley-Lynn. She’s from Kuala Lumpur and was looking for a job in Melaka.  Within in 30mins she drove to our hostel, picked us up and off we went to dinner with other CSers.

Pak Putra is an Indian restaurant serving Mamak (muslim+indian) food.  It's restaurant is very popular with locals and now tourist as it is featured in Lonely Planet.

Pak Putra is an Indian restaurant serving Mamak (muslim+indian) food. It's restaurant is very popular with locals and now tourist as it is featured in Lonely Planet. I wouldn't have known this place if it wasn't for CSers!

Probably one of the best Indian dishes I've every had.  Everything was fresh and the curry were amazing.  It wasn't too rich nor heavy but just right the way I like it :-)

Probably one of the best Indian dishes I've every had. Everything was fresh and the curry were amazing. It wasn't too rich nor heavy but just right the way I like it 🙂

They are known for their Chicken tandoori and freshly made Naans! So yummy!

They are known for their Chicken tandoori and freshly made Naans! So yummy!

It turned into a pretty large group later in the night for drinks at Daywood and we all had a blast!  I couldn’t believe how friendly everyone was and how quickly our trip to a place we knew nothing of became one of the most enjoyable cities we’ve ever been to!  We even stayed an extra day 🙂

I recommend couchsurfing highly to anyone who is travelling.  It’s one of the best ways to meet locals and other travellers and to get to know the city your in enjoyably.  They’ll know the best places to go to and have many stories to tell!

Melaka dinner CS group photo

Melaka dinner CS group photo

Currently I am in Kuala Lumpur staying at a CS hosts place on my first night 🙂  How exciting!

