Early Birthday Present Surprise


Today I didn’t do as much as I wanted.  Lack of motivation?  Anyway, during the afternoon, I went to take a nap.  Not long after Eric pops in and tells me he got me an early birthday present!

Meilei's Wacom Bamboo Fun Pen and Touch

It's a Wacom Bamboo Fun Pen and Touch tablet! I wanted it a pen tablet but then forgot about it.. he's the best!

Testing out the Bamboo Fun!

Testing out the Bamboo Fun! I'm not a good drawer but I love to scribble!

Actually, I didn’t even have time to nap!  He made me get up and testing straight away!  I actually wanted to open the present on my birthday but he said I should open it now because he’s gonna be ignoring me for 24 hours to play games with his friends… ok so I did it.

How was it?

It was.. alright at first.  I was a little disappointed that when I was drawing in their Bamboo Paper app – it’s really laggy.  It was very difficult to draw nicely and I was afraid that it was going to be like this the whole way.  But then I opened up Photoshop and Illustrator and went nuts!  It was insanely smooth and you just get carried away scribbling and writing.  You can also erase with the other end of the pen.  Sweet.

My scribble test on Illustrator

My scribble test on Illustrator. Doing the loops is fun!

What I really like is the look and feel of the tablet.  It’s nice and light.  I love the buttons design.  The texture of it is visibly interesting yet when you touch the button it’s not as lumpy!  It’s good. Also, it can also be a second trackpad with a bigger area!  I personally prefer using the track pad on my 15″ Macbook Pro but since the Lion upgrade, I miss the four fingers up goes to desktop instead of an app launcher.  Well with Bamboo Fun I can do that again so I’m very happy.

I haven’t used it much so I can’t really write much about it.  Hopefully I am able to make good use with it.  I’m hoping to do photo touch-up with it and maybe do a bit of cartoon drawings with it.

