What’s so Old and New about Jerusalem?


Tour company: United Tours; Tour date: 19th of September 2011

Tour description:  Tour begins with a panoramic view of Jerusalem. Continue for a walking tour of the Old City which includes Mount Zion, the Cardo, Via Dolorosa (The Stations of the Cross), the Church of the Holy Sepulchre and the Western (Wailing) Wall.
In the afternoon, visit Yad Vashem Holocaust Museum.

Ah Jerusalem.  You are the holy town? All I knew about Jerusalem was that Jesus was there.. and that it is a very historical place and it has camels..  I am not a religious person and have very limited knowledge about religion.

The stunning view of Jerusalem from Mount Olive (I think..) I know I also couldn't take my eyes off that golden boob 😉

I was the only non-religious person on the tour.  It was awkward but I made good friends with a Jewish old lady named Silvia from Florida.  I miss her.. I didn’t even get her contact details!!

The Davidson Centre.. the bar mitzvah was happening there 🙂

The Western Wall where people shove their message to God. Get with the times, God! It's called email!

The Western Wall is divided into 2.  There’s the boys side and the girls side.

My sneaky shot of the boys side keke

The tour guide then took us to the place where Jesus carried his cross and where he was crucified.

The street where Jesus carried his cross

It's a very busy street.

Jesus is a super popular stud. Look at all these pushy tourist going up the stairs to see where he was crucified!

This is what they came to see.

And this.. you have to wait in line to see the inside! Really really crowded!

It’s very easy to get lost as there are a lot to see (if you can get by the crowds and have enough time).  It’s awfully popular.  While you’re there, don’t forget to look up!  Someone’s looking at you 😉

Jesus, you da man! You're more popular than Oprah!

On our way to Yad Vashem Holocaust Museum we passed the walls that divides Jerusalem and Bethlehem.

A very ugly wall. You need some rainbow colours!!

Yad Vashem Holocaust Museum

Unfortunately I’m not allowed to take photos inside but I will tell you that the architecture is beautiful.  I hope one day you go there and learn about the horrible past.

Anyway, that’s all I’ve really done in Israel.  Keep an eye out about my entry of security in Israel.

Related links:

